Little Pink Dumbbells

Let’s talk about weights.  You may not expect me to take the side of the little pink dumbbells, but actually I think they are fine.  There are a couple of different camps that disagree with each other.  The Cross Fit ladies like to lift heavy stuff, while some of the Hollywood Elite say not to use more than three pounds, because they want the skinny arms.  Personally, I think the pink three-pounders are great to start with, and I encourage women to pick up 3, 5, and 8 lb dumbbells.  I feel like for many women that’s enough to maintain upper body muscle enough to be fit and healthy.  I was trained to have people tire the muscle between 8 and 12 reps, but I feel that if women want to go up to 15 or 20 reps, that’s fine.  I have no problem with women who are motivated to do more, but I think most women want a lean but feminine shape.  The reason I say this has to do with what I wrote about in my last few blogs.  I worked for the Forest Service in the 80’s, and did push ups, pull ups, and weights to try to keep up with the guys.  Then in the late 80’s, when I was pregnant, I had to wonder why the heck I was doing that.  It was just the culture at the time, and I had fallen into it somehow.  I want to be fit and healthy but I want to look like a girl as long as I can.  I recently ran across some older women showering at the YMCA, and it definitely renewed my determination to maintain muscle for life (because of what I saw, and not in a good way!), but a small amount of weight used consistently will do that.

Leave a Reply

